“I realized that my job is to awaken possibility in others.”



Date & Time Fri, November 17, 2023
8 - 10pm

Add to calendar

Location Symphony Hall, Boston

Get Directions

Britten – Passacaglia from Peter Grimes

Bartok – Piano Concerto No. 3 (Benjamin Hochman, piano)

Shostakovich – Symphony No. 10



Britten and Shostakovich deeply admired each other’s work and related to each other around the notion of persecution – person­al, political, and artistic. Peter Grimes, tackles head-on the problem of the mob’s persecution of the outsider. The ominous yet brilliant “Passacaglia” Is a highlight of the opera, in which the narrow and blinkered townspeople close in on their prey.

Shoslakovich’s Tenth Symphony, composed shortly after the death of Stalin, is a moving and enigmatic work, in which persecution is just one of a complex of ele­ments. The symphony’s short, horrific second movement may depict the dictator himself. But much else haunts this symphony, not least the composer, as indicated by the initials of his name spelled out in the musical notation. This overpowering work has justly earned its place among the most popular of Shostakovich’s symphonies.

We are extraordinarily fortunate in our piano soloist for Bartok’s Piano Concerto No. 3 performance. Pianist and conductor Benjamin Hochman has been praised by the New York Times “Classical music doesn’t get any better than this.” The Seattle Post-Intelligencer raved “Hochman’s demeanor is poised, and quietly confident. His playing is beautiful to hear. From the first moment, his crisp, articulated touch was noticeable, clear but not forceful, even with pedal, and he shaped the phrases in the long cadenza with grace.”



This is a live concert that will be live-streamed! Be sure to read through our support page for Boston Philharmonic virtual events. Our Live Streams and On Demand events are viewable on computers, smartphones, and tablets. We cannot guarantee that you will be able to view these events on your television at this time.



  • All Boston Philharmonic Orchestra concerts make use of a stage extension. This makes row E the first row directly in front of the stage. View Symphony Hall Seat Map to see where the extension overlaps and where any viewer obstructions are located before you choose your seats.
  • If you are choosing to have your tickets emailed to you, your tickets are print-at-home and not digital or e-tickets. This means that you will receive an email with PDF attachments. One PDF per ticket that you purchased. You must print your PDF ticket(s) out and bring them with you to the concert. Print-at-home tickets are a convenience for ticket buyers so that they may receive their tickets right away.
  • View our Ticket Policies page for further information.