“I realized that my job is to awaken possibility in others.”



Date & Time Fri, October 20, 2023
8 - 10pm

Add to calendar

Location Symphony Hall, Boston

Get Directions

Rossini –William Tell Overture

Elgar – Violin Concerto (Guy Braunstein, violin)

Beethoven – Symphony No. 7



Beethoven’s Seventh, the most vigorous, relentlessly yet joyously driving of all the Beethoven symphonies, reaches by the end of its course a sort of ecstatic frenzy.

Long a test piece for discipline and precision among even the world’s most renowned orchestras, it has proved a stunning success in performances by Benjamin Zander and the Philharmonic in the past. Mr. Zander’s belief in the validity of Beethoven’s metronome markings for the symphonies is always a springboard for fresh insights, and there will be many surprises and certain exhilaration in the orchestra’s performance of this great work.

We are extraordinarily fortunate in our soloist for this performance of Elgar’s Violin Concerto. Violinist and conductor Guy Braunstein has been praised by Concerti  “Braunstein is an outstanding violinist, he is as virtuoso as he is gifted in music.” RBB Kultur Radio says “With his intense playing and sheer endless musical imaginativeness, Guy Braunstein joins the ranks of history’s great violinists.”


  • Watch Guy Braunstein perform Paganiniana.
  • The Boston Philharmonic Orchestra first performed Elgar’s Violin Concerto on March 4, 1990, with Oscar Shumsky as soloist.
  • The Boston Philharmonic Orchestra last performed Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 during the 20th anniversary season on October 10th  and 11th, 1998.

This is a live concert that will be live-streamed! Be sure to read through our support page for Boston Philharmonic virtual events. Our Live Streams and On Demand events are viewable on computers, smartphones, and tablets. We cannot guarantee that you will be able to view these events on your television at this time.



  • All Boston Philharmonic Orchestra concerts make use of a stage extension. This makes row E the first row directly in front of the stage. View Symphony Hall Seat Map to see where the extension overlaps and where any viewer obstructions are located before you choose your seats.
  • If you are choosing to have your tickets emailed to you, your tickets are print-at-home and not digital or e-tickets. This means that you will receive an email with PDF attachments. One PDF per ticket that you purchased. You must print your PDF ticket(s) out and bring them with you to the concert. Print-at-home tickets are a convenience for ticket buyers so that they may receive their tickets right away.
  • View our Ticket Policies page for further information.